7 Teachings Character Education

Character Education Through the 7 Teachings

The 7 teachings are integrated across the K-6 curriculum through First Nations, Metis and Inuit Education at WGH.   

The traditional concepts of respect and sharing that form the foundation of the Indigenous way of life are built around the seven natural laws, or sacred teachings. Each teaching honours one of the basic virtues intrinsic to a full and healthy life. 

Each law is embodied by an animal to underscore the point that all actions and decisions made by man are manifest on a physical plain. The animal world taught man how to live close to the earth, and the connection that has been established between the animal world and that of man has instilled a respect for all life in those who follow the traditional Aboriginal way.

  • LOVE

7 Teachings at WGH

Every month, we feature one of the 7 Sacred Teachings.  All students are taught the history and values surrounding the teaching and are encouraged to find ways to apply it in their own lives.  Our work with these teachings often includes artworks and presentations.

At our monthly success assemblies, we recognize one of the 7 Teachings and award a student from each class who demonstrates the values of this teaching.  We have a cultural navigator and an FNMI liaison who help us bring relevant and culturally aware practices and teachings into our classrooms.

At WGH, we are proud to honour important Indigenous events and observances such as:

  • Orange Shirt Day
  • National Day for Truth and Reconciliation
  • Louis Riel Week
  • Rock Your Mocs
  • Moose Hide Day
  • Metis Week
  • National Indigenous History Month
  • ATC Land-based Learning